Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-05-2008, 04:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
I might be Stupid but I need some reassurance

Ok its been about a month and a half. My current setup is
75 gallon tank
20lbs of live rock
80lbs of live sand
30 lbs of other sand
Fluval 405
Protein Skimmer marineland

My problem I think: Im pretty new at this so I thought it just makes sense. I knew that I had to cycle the tank so to help my tank cycle by adding 3 large raw shrimp and a full both of chemical cycle I forget the exact name. Well it been about a month and a half now im stuck.
ammonia spiked and went down
nitrite went up i think and went down
nitrate did not budge have tested regularly to see if it changed but nothing.
Starting off with a alot of things to break down wouldnt it only make sense that it would produce alot of beneficial bacteria for my tank. Ive lost a fish already i dont think because of my water levels. It came with some sort of disease that somehow eat away his flesh. I need some advice because I dont know what to do or if anything is even wrong.
__________________

__________________
fredcabintoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 05:41 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Ok, no stupid question there at all they sound pretty good for a newer person who wants to do things the right way.
Can you post specific test results?
The shrimp should have been enough to cycle the tank with out the other chemical....
You probably want to shoot for more rock, you can add base rock to save some cash.
Get us those numbers and we can go from there.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
ok as far as numbers go ill give them here:
ph- 8.6
Specific Gravity- 1.022
Ammonia- 0
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate-0 ( i know this should be increasing until a water change is needed, but its not budging.)
let me know of more numbers that could be useful for you
__________________
fredcabintoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 10:55 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Have you done any water changes yet? If not, I'd find it hard to believe the nitrates are zero.

And I agree, you need to get that rock added. 1 to 1.5 lbs minimum per gallon for better reef tanks. Might wanna think the rock addition out so you know if you're gonna deal with cured or uncured rock before you think about adding more fish as uncured rock might re-cycle the tank.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Austin, im telling you no water changes and nitrate has never risen ive tested for 3 weeks now and nothing but I will try to today and see what the levels are. i still have time till i get fish because one of my dads friends is moving and giving away all his live rocks lucky me I know but i hope I have enough to fill this tank.
__________________
fredcabintoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:56 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I'd be suspecting the test kit at this point. What kind? Try taking a water sample to the lfs to check.

So the new rocks are from an established tank? How much you getting?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 12:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
OK your stupid its confirmed. LOL just joking interesting thread title Just wanted to say welcome to AA. It sounds to me like your tank never cycled and you need a better ammonia source. Some half dead live rock should jump start things a bit since you need it anyway. Just to be sure I would buy a Salifert Nitrate test kit its accurate down to 1ppm where most other kits just go from 5ppm to 0ppm
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 01:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
I have the saltwater master test kit, and as far as not having a good ammonia source... i dont understand how 3 large raw shrimp and a full bottle of cycle formula wasnt enough? But live rocks that will be given to is still unknown as far as how many lbs i will be getting. Is it because I dont have enough live rock it didnt cycle?
__________________
fredcabintoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:04 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I am thinking the combo of "bio spira" or "fast cycle" chem you used may be throwing things out of whack when you added the shrimp.
Can you get us the name of the chem you used?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 05:04 PM   #10
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
If you used 3 shrimp and they dissolved, I think you have a testing issue.
As suggested by austinsdad, take a water sample to your LFS and see what they get.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Same old question.. but i need reassurance... asudavew Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-15-2009 09:41 PM
Need Reassurance NiGeR1986 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 08-11-2008 11:18 PM
Lots of Drama - Could Just Use some Reassurance aquanewbie72 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 02-02-2006 02:30 PM
new lights, new algea.... need reassurance lziarek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-09-2005 04:56 PM
Some reassurance needed pls pioneer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 01-25-2003 09:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.