I might be Stupid but I need some reassurance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fredcabintoy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok its been about a month and a half. My current setup is
75 gallon tank
20lbs of live rock :(
80lbs of live sand
30 lbs of other sand
Fluval 405
Protein Skimmer marineland

My problem I think: Im pretty new at this so I thought it just makes sense. I knew that I had to cycle the tank so to help my tank cycle by adding 3 large raw shrimp and a full both of chemical cycle I forget the exact name. Well it been about a month and a half now im stuck.
ammonia spiked and went down
nitrite went up i think and went down
nitrate did not budge have tested regularly to see if it changed but nothing.
Starting off with a alot of things to break down wouldnt it only make sense that it would produce alot of beneficial bacteria for my tank. Ive lost a fish already i dont think because of my water levels. It came with some sort of disease that somehow eat away his flesh. I need some advice because I dont know what to do or if anything is even wrong.

Ok, no stupid question there at all they sound pretty good for a newer person who wants to do things the right way.
Can you post specific test results?
The shrimp should have been enough to cycle the tank with out the other chemical....
You probably want to shoot for more rock, you can add base rock to save some cash.
Get us those numbers and we can go from there.

ok as far as numbers go ill give them here:
ph- 8.6
Specific Gravity- 1.022
Ammonia- 0
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate-0 ( i know this should be increasing until a water change is needed, but its not budging.)
let me know of more numbers that could be useful for you

Have you done any water changes yet? If not, I'd find it hard to believe the nitrates are zero.