Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-31-2012, 07:47 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by h8z2luze
Wait your getting the tank from her too or just the stuff? Might be worth it to do 50% old water 50% new... Most of the bacteria you need is not in the water. I wouldn't recommend moving a tank with much weight in it. The stress may cause it to leak.

Also try to keep everything submerged in buckets or ice chests while moving it.
It's just the SW stuff she is keeping the tank and converting to FW. I just got my biocube so I don't have salt water. Tommorow morning I'll go pick some up and do a 5g water change how's that sound? What should I do with the excess sand and rock?
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:48 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
How long has the tank been running? Should be able to fit all the rock in your tank. 1-2 pounds of LR per gallon is a great ratio. Also I'd do a 3-4" sandbed
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:19 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by h8z2luze
How long has the tank been running? Should be able to fit all the rock in your tank. 1-2 pounds of LR per gallon is a great ratio. Also I'd do a 3-4" sandbed
Over a year she said.

Oh great I'll use all the rock it's better anyways right? I might as well use as much Sand as I can. How much is too much?
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:58 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait54

Over a year she said.

Oh great I'll use all the rock it's better anyways right? I might as well use as much Sand as I can. How much is too much?
Imo i wouldn even touch the sand disturbing an established sandbed is bad news it will release all nutrients back into water id put the rock in buckets of her water only to keep it wet but when you set it back up id use all new water the rock will contain the bb you need might have a small cycle thats about it
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 01:41 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Ya I agree. I wouldn't use the old
Sand. Maybe a couple handfuls to seed your tank. Also all new water.
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 02:28 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
When I do put the sand in do I have to wait till it settles to turn on the filter?
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 02:45 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Or just a power head to keep the water moving
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:16 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbstrong

Imo i wouldn even touch the sand disturbing an established sandbed is bad news it will release all nutrients back into water id put the rock in buckets of her water only to keep it wet but when you set it back up id use all new water the rock will contain the bb you need might have a small cycle thats about it
Wouldn't it be the same as like upgrading tanks do I really need to replace the sand?
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:48 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Turn everything on. It's fine. I'd use new sand. The old sand has a lot of bad stuff in it like nitrates and stirring it up could end up bad. Also over time it loses it's ability to hold in nutrients and bacteria. It's a much better idea to start with new sand.
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:55 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Ok so I didn't get enough water to fill the tank do I can I add some new water? Just match the salinity correct?

Or should I use straight RO water cause salinity is a little high
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.