I need help starting a reef tank with fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

palmero

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok here it goes, I am intrested in starting a reef tank. I have tried it before and I would say I roughlyspent around $1500+ before I finally gave up. I found that in my situation (meaning my set-up) was very awkward. My aquarium is in the wall and required me to access it through a closet on the other side and that was very tight quarters. Here is what I have so far from my last horrific attempt.

Tank--55 gal

Lighting--power compact (would be nice to know the output)
cost me around $300-$400

I have a sump with a protein skimmer in it

2 powerheads in tank

I know that may not be good enough info but obviously I am still a novice. The sump is about 2-3 feet under the tank and may need a strong motor for circulation. That is about all I know about my set-up for now. Now here are some of the issues I had last time.....

--Heat!-- 80-85f degrees. Those lights in combination with most of the aquarium in the closet lacked air circulation. Plus I am in Phoenix, AZ.

--The lighting-- had to be kinda offset more to the rear of the tank because the wall it was in limited to be placed in the center. I may need to consider knocking out more wall.

--Water circulation-- may not have been sufficiant enough. Alot of algae (dark red, green) would "Carpet the floor of the tank. The light may have been on too long (10/12hours) I would cut it back but still quick algae growth.