Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-23-2006, 08:37 PM   #61
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
just a FYI if you get the walmart 55 gal tank... do not drill the tank... the whole tank is tempered glass... I found out the hard way

Over flow box is the way to go with that tank... good luck..

your getting some good advice so keep doing you rhomework and take things slow..

PS.... RO/DI water rules!!!
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 09:22 PM   #62
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
There should be a law that requires tank manufactures to put a label stating the bottom is tempered! Most respectable tank companies do but the Walmart tank was probably made in china.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 10:02 PM   #63
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
should i QUICKLY draw up a picture of the sump im planning on getting just to make sure i have everything down?

right now i dont have a job but this weekend im gonna start working(and making money!!!) REALLY excited about getting started

i looked for a gfci and the only one i found had only 2 plug ins on it can i hook up a surge protector to that?

and if i draw that how do i attacgh it to the forum?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 11:57 PM   #64
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 174
Quote:
just a FYI if you get the walmart 55 gal tank... do not drill the tank... the whole tank is tempered glass... I found out the hard way
Hmm, that would explain my problem I had then. I was trying to use a 10 gallon that I got from Walmart as a fuge attached to the sump for my 90 gallon. I had the tank drilled thru the end panel at the glass shop. The hole gave the glass guy trouble and came out really ragged. So bad that they didn't even charge me for it. Sure enough after I got everything all connected and running it developed a bunch of cracks. A real mess to get my mud back out of it and all. Now replaced with rubbermaid and working much better. I thought tempered glass tended to shatter with drilling. Is that not true?
__________________
ColdFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 11:58 PM   #65
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
you only NEED one actual GFCI outlet. You then just plug your powerstrip into it and you're protected on each of the powerstrip outlets.
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 12:20 AM   #66
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
yea i got that figured out (took me ahwile)lol

and how much did the 55 gallon tank and stand from walmart cost?? im going to head on over there tonight

im going to start a new forum tomorrow about stocking my aquarium and my different onptions

thanks!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 10:50 PM   #67
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i bought an ro/di unit of ebay for only 134 bucks but im going to hook it to a metal pipe into a faucet does this affect the water quality when it comes in contact with metal?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 09:10 AM   #68
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by marty_wolff
im going to hook it to a metal pipe into a faucet does this affect the water quality when it comes in contact with metal?
Not at all since the hookup is before it goes through ro/di which would remove any metals from the water if present.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 10:53 PM   #69
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
does anyone have nething to say on the subject of me getting a yellow tang?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 11:59 PM   #70
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to Konrade
they need lots of swiming room. I wouldn't suggest it. You could, but maybe not for the long term.
__________________

__________________
Konrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a new aquarium AnimalXXman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 06-02-2009 02:32 PM
Starting out - Which aquarium should I get? impulse83 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 07-14-2007 06:23 AM
Help starting a new aquarium sjkelly817 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-26-2006 02:54 PM
Starting a new aquarium kciolek Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 01-16-2005 02:38 PM
Cleaning out Aquarium and starting over takelly Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-04-2002 09:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.