Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-31-2003, 12:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

I Need Help With My Clownfish!

My poor little fish! I am new at this. Several days ago I added 2 clown fish to my 40 gallon tank. One is a maroon clown and the other is a tomato clown. They share the tank with one green chromis and and 3 damsels. At first they seemed to adjust very well but then I noticed the the tomato clown was attacking the poor little maroon clown. He has ripped off almost all of the fish's fins and the poor thing just laps around the top of the tank and trys to stay away from the other clown. I feel so bad, it looks so pathetic with all of his fins ripped off. The only two that are left are the ones on the side. What do I do?

Old 07-31-2003, 12:27 AM   #2
steve-s

First off Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by tloktb26
What do I do?
I would choose which one should go back to the LFS. If purchased at the same time, the LFS should have informed you that this is impossible, especially in a small tank like a 40 gal.

Clown species should never be mixed in the same tank and never more than two of the same. Even in very large sytems does this rarely work.

Cheers
Steve
Old 07-31-2003, 12:36 AM   #3

Thanks. If I decide to return the Tomato Clown, do you think that the Maroon Clown would be able to recover? Will his fins grow back?
Old 07-31-2003, 01:55 AM   #4
steve-s

Providing there are no other fish in the tank and the water quality is good, there is a decent chance. I'm sure you know these things are never 100% but I think trying to keep and save the badly hurt fish is quite commendable.