Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2014, 11:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: chino hills, CA
Posts: 10
I transferred a tank

Hopefully this belongs in this thread.
I transferred a tank and put new water, same old sand and was told by an aquarium joint that I could put the dead rock that came with the deal back into the system no problem. Seems I may have been told some bad advice because the nitrate level was around 160ppm and after doing a 60% water change, adding a cleaning crew and some nitrate eating plant (I think cabomb) they're down to 60ppm. Will the dead rock and old sand continue to play havok with my nitrate levels?? Should I scrap the rock and buy live rock? I used some instant nitrifying bacteria to help put back some of the good bacteria. I don't want to end up spending loads of cash on new water to save funky rock.
__________________

__________________
Jetsetter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 12:20 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
The rock isn't the issue at hand. What you are dealing with is the wonders of transferring a tank. For as long as the tank was set up, food and poop end up filling the sandbed...and moving it released all of it! That is why your nitrates are through the roof.
If you bacteria in a bottle wasn't expired, it might help out some...but until things are settled with the sandbed you'll have to keep up with the water changes to get the nitrates down. This is why we usually recommend you ditch any used sand in transfer tanks.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: chino hills, CA
Posts: 10
Would it be best to replace the sand or add more "live" rock?

Water changes are helping, the nitrates are "down" from 80-160 to between 40 and 60ppm. I just read some where that the rocks can continue "leaching" nitrates into the water and I wanted to make sure I didn't continue to waste money on water changes if I could just change the rocks and get it over with.
__________________
Jetsetter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:19 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
Water changes are the most effective and cost efficient way to manage parameter issues.
In this case, it is the sandbed causing everything going on. If you want to replace the sandbed, go for it. It will be a long process doing so and you'll want to make sure you don't knock the rocks over and break the glass...that would be a disaster.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
If you do decide to replace the sand (I would) a funnel and a PVC pipe a little longer than your tank is deep makes for an easy way to add the new sand exactly where you want it to go.
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 11:08 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
If you do decide to replace the sand (I would) a funnel and a PVC pipe a little longer than your tank is deep makes for an easy way to add the new sand exactly where you want it to go.

+1. I did it and it also helps that it doesn't cloud up your tank.
__________________

__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quarantine tub constantly cycling. Water being transferred to new tank. Tank120 Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 20 04-08-2014 09:58 PM
Transferred tank and now losing fish Homeschoolmom2girls Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 06-04-2011 10:58 PM
How to prevent BGA being transferred to new tank? corrado33 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 09-07-2010 09:03 PM
1.5yr old DSB sand - can it be transferred to a new tank? Maximo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-05-2005 02:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.