Ignorance turned to reefeducation

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

qb6fire

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am a begginer and before i let my ignorance of corals become a pricey moronic move id like to ask a few questions as to were i stand as of now,
(if you think education is exspensive try ignorance) as you see i dont want to have this quote labbeled to me haha.

so below i will put pics of my tank and of the lights i have in my 24g jbj nano cube.

questions:
1 - Will these lights be sufficient enough to keep a coral?
1A - If so which ones?(again im a beginner)
2 - placement of the corals you have suggest would be put best were?
3 - In the picture below front left is a small LR as a mini island that my hermits tend not to use and i would like to have something flowy there coral wise to were a clow may possibly host(yes i know a clown may not host ever).
Pictures:
59499-albums9095-picture35703.jpg

59499-albums9095-picture35842.jpg

thank you in advance for helping me prevent a rookie mistake by allowing me to soak up all your thoughts and suggestions like a spounge no pun intended

READY GO!!!:popcorn::hide::thanks::dance:

Hey qb6, from the pic of the bulb (36w cfl), you could sustain some soft corals like mushrooms or other lower light corals. Although its not a very accurate assessment, watts per gallon used to be the way to rate your lighting, used to say that you needed 2-5 watts per gallon. Using this you are on the lower side. Now a lot of people have Lux meters to measure light, this is definitely much more accurate, but if you don't have one, watts per gallon will work in most situations.
Mushrooms could be placed anywhere in the tank, sand or on the rocks.

Thank you very much.
For my set up what lights would work? And what is the price range?

Hey qb6,

First let me commend you on doing the right thing & looking for info first.