Im a complete newbie...need advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

adiliegro

Aquarium Advice Regular
OK, I guess this is a good a place as any to post this...I am new to this but have always wanted an aquarium with tropical fish and maybe some cool looking coral...where can I learn what to do and more importantly, what NOT to do in setting up a tank? Can anyone offer me some advice on tanks, coral, fish, etc? When I say Im new to the hobby, I mean im NEW! Im thinking along the lines of a 29 gallon to start with, but am not sure.

A few questions -

1. Is salt water more or less expensive than fresh?
2. Which is better for the newbie?
3. What should be the FIRST thing I do after buying a tank?
4. What are some decent tanks and equipment that wont cost me an arm and a leg?

Any help will be appreciated VERY much!

First of all read, read and read. This will arm you with much info. Second, ask a lot of specific questions as you go, we love to help people here.
Yes SW is more expensive than fresh, but worth it IMO.
Also check out some of the sponsors, that have great deals on equipment. As well as the classifieds, many good deals there.
But most of all
:invasion: Welcome to AA!!