I'm a little confused, can you help me ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ambulocetus

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I have just started up a 29gal tank (up about 4 weeks). I was told to use about 5-6 inches of sand. I have a lot of lr (i get it cheap as i work in a petstore!) and i hope to have a mix of a couple fish, some nice anenomes and a couple corals when it is all finally finished. However I had a couple of questions

1. How does a dsb work, surely under 5 inches of sand there is very little water movement?

2. Should i ever stir it or not, i have a couple hermit crabs and some snails crusing around at the moment?

3. Power heads - what is the truth about these? I have a Manum 350 canister, which has a reasonably fast flow coming out of the return - do i really need a powerhead too? (I don't want to skimp, yet i am a student and don't have loads of spare change to throw around )

4. Finally a proetin skimmer - I am thinking about an Aqua C remora, i can't really afford it, but everyone seems to say it is the best there is, and it is easy to maintain - is this true? i am looking for easy maintenance - it absolutley CANNOT leak or be prone to leaking as the tank is at my girlfriend's house and they would not be pleased if i swamp the floor!

5. What temp, i have heard anything from 70 - 85, right now we are at 80

I know that there are some answers to these questions (i spent about 8 hours trawling through previous postings) but i would like clear definitive answers if possible!!! Thank you so much, this is an outstanding website!
Jonathan

1. Sand-dwelling organisms move it around.. snails, worms, pods etc.

2. Nope, let the critters do it. If you don't have any then pick up a detrivore pack which includes the above animals.

3. You should aim for 10x total volume although more is better.