Im a newb...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rayf

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone.

I currently have a 55 gal mixed african cichlid tank that I love, i will post some pictures later, but I also have a small 20 long tank that I want to setup as a reef tank, most likley with some clown fish and anemones..

I might be switching to a smaller 10 gallon but I have some qeustions...

I found 50 pounds of live rock from someone aroud here for 5.50 CAD a pound which is about half the price at the LFS, so ill be buying some of that.

What should I get for a subsrate and how much? Crushed coral?

Do I need a Filter? or does the live rock and crushed coral bed do the filtering? I have heard that you dont really need a filter on tanks?

Do I need watermovement then? just get a really small power filter?

What about air, do I have have an air pump in the tank?

I know I will need some salt mix.

The next thing is what do I need for lights? If I want anemones, I need a special lighting system? Is it easier just for me to build it myself, or should I say cheaper, because I dont want to spend a ton of money on a Salt water tank.

Thats why I am going with a small tank, I have a 33 gal but It would be alot more to setup I think if I went with that..

Or would it? if I had a 33 gal would I still need a filter and all that?

Thanks

Ray.

dont switch to the 10g... smaller tanks are very hard to keep stable. If anything i would at least get a 29g tank.

Use sand for the substrate. Crushed coral needs to be vacuumed regularly (which is a big pain) or it will cause lots of nitrate.

The live rock and sand should filter enough, but you should consider getting a skimmer as well.

Get two powerheads for water movement.

aim one of the powerheads towards the surface of the water causing ripples. This is wehre the oxygen exchange will take place.