Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-16-2005, 08:01 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
will that be good enough to up the PH?
What about water conditioning?
I mean. I have kept freshwater tanks for years and all you really have to do is condition the water and add the bateria, let it cycle, keep it at the right temperature, Test your perameters and its good to go.

Is that the same case for salt water? Condition the water, add salt.... and...? what else?
__________________

__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:11 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
It's pretty much the same. It's really not that much harder to take care of, just a have few more things to watch. Yes, the agronite sand would be good for ph but salt plays an important roll in that as well. You'd condition the water just like normal with a good dechlorinator. Add your salt, let it mix, add a raw shrimp and let it do it's thing.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:12 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to Drake
I used silica sand for a freshwater tank, and I let it cycle for a good two months. I got the sand from Lowe's Hardware, it was $2.50 for a fifty pound bag, so I took it. I decided I would move my pair of blue rams into the 29 gallon aquarium which had the sand in it. They where doing great for a couple of weeks and one day after I was gone all day, the male was dead and the female was still alive but was dying. She eventually died and I was wondering if the silica sand had anything to do with it and if I should of used argonite sand instead.
__________________
55 Gallon-two clown knifefish, chocolate pleco
46 Gallon Bow Front-Planted-swords, java fern and African cichlids, sail fin pleco
29 Gallon-black ghost knifefish, bristlenose pleco
10 gallon-brackish, figure-eight puffer, knight goby
Drake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:18 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
That sucks Drake.

Hey Fluff. The water conditioner i use is aqua plus and the bacteria i use is "cycle" Do i add that to the water along with my salt mix?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:20 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
Oh and what about filtration? im either going to use my 55 gallon or 80 gallon for my saltwater tank. what should i use as a filter?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:24 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
No, don't use the cycle. I would get a raw shrimp and let it rot in the tank for a few weeks. This is a sure way of making the tank cycle. I don't believe in the instant cycle stuff. I've tried them on fw and find they don't work most times. SW is a slow process to start but you'll save yourself alot of headache to not rush it. To get started, I would premix the water, put the sand in the tank, place a shallow bowl on the sand, poor the water in the bowl to help keep the sand from stirring to much. Add your raw fish or shrimp and let it sit.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:27 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Personally, I don't use filters on my sw tanks. If you get some baserock, or even some lacerock and put that in, at about 1.5-2lbs per gallon, add a few powerheads to move the water through and around the rocks, that is good enough. You want to aim for about 10x's the gallons (550gph-800gph) turnover is a good average. You don't need to add all the rock at once and you may even want to invest in some liverock as your adding it.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:37 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
wow no filters?
I dont think my skills are that advanced to use no filters. lol If you dont use filters wont the water get cloudy? and stank?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:40 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Nope, the rock works as your filter. Just have to be sure you have enough rock. You can run a filter if you want. I'm not saying not to. Only offereing another alternative for you. When I started out I used a tetratec 500 filter on my tank. It's a little overkill on a 55 though. Any filter that is gonna turn the water over at a good pace for you will work. Your still gonna want a couple powerheads to move water around the bottom of the tank to keep from getting dead spots.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:45 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
oh i see, so what about 50Lbs of Live rock and a filstar xp3? would that be enough for a 80 gallon?
__________________

__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You are not gonna believe this! peaceablegarden Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 02-15-2009 08:28 AM
Im gonna have another tank soon!!! ferretttt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-16-2006 11:15 PM
Gonna do it! DodgeRT Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 01-31-2005 10:12 PM
I'm gonna scream :0 quarryshark Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 09-10-2004 08:49 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.