Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2009, 07:15 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Yellow Eye Tang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 212
I used One HOB filter (appropriate for size of tank) and one Skilter filter (once again for appropriate size tank) The skilter skims AND filters like a regular HOB. Then a bought a HOB skimmer sperately. Was very inexpensive and worked like a charm. Oh, and I also had two powerheads which were nice for placing IN the tank that would move sediment and water very nicely. Also they could be moved at anytime to change water flow if you were to have any algae outbreaks. I was breading Xenia, mushrooms, polyps, and bubble anemonies like no body's business in that tank. BTW - my tank was a 55g. Good Luck my friend and Have fun with it!!!
__________________

__________________
<---Steve--->
Yellow Eye Tang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 07:51 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks everyone for helping me out. I was wondering how hard is it to set up a canister filter? If it's not too hard I might do that instead of an HOB filter. Also is the canister filter going to be alot better then an HOB filter? I also read that with proper amount of LR and a protein skimmer extra filtration isn't needed. Is this true?
__________________

__________________
jhawkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 10:59 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Also what is the Berlin Method of filtration?
__________________
jhawkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 04:10 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
Canister filter is very easy to set up, search youtube.com for "canister filter" or "that fish place". They have an instructional video on how to set up a canister filter. Canister is much better than HOB IMO.
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 11:26 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Ok, do I need an overflow for a canister filter? I found a cheap tank on Craigslist but I don't think it has an overflow. Can they be bought seperatley?
__________________
jhawkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 12:29 PM   #26
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
IMO 1.5 - 2 lbs of LR or BR and a skimmer is all you need for proper filtration. That is all I used for the first 7 yrs I had my reef.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 04:15 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
IMO 1.5 - 2 lbs of LR or BR and a skimmer is all you need for proper filtration. That is all I used for the first 7 yrs I had my reef.
I would also need good water flow if I was going to go that route right? Also could i have corals if I did it this way?
__________________
jhawkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 06:17 PM   #28
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Good flow is always good on a reef tank.Most of my corals in my tank was in that tank. I`ve since upgraded to a 125 with a 40 gallon refuge. But for 7 yrs LR and a skimmer is all I had.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 08:25 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
What kind of lighting is recommended for a 55 gal tank with a few corals? Also do I have to purchase an RO/DI unit or can I purchase RO water somewhere?
__________________
jhawkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 04:49 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
The second post pointed to CC as a substrate...I would not reconmend CC if you are going to do a reef any time soon. You will get high nitrates with CC and it will be hard to remove later on down the rood. Get aragonite sand from your LFS. might be a little more expensive but way better,,,
__________________

__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.