Im thinking about buying a 50gal S/W tank... I'm a Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kelkoski

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I’m getting this itch to buy a S/W tank set up. This will be my first s/w tank. I have had a koi pond in the back yard so my expertise in s/w is limited to none at all. I would like to have a clean looking and simple set up if possible. Are there any recommendations on what tank and filter set up I should buy. Coral, fish, accessories will come later. Thanks.

My only recommendation for s/w setup is buy the biggest tank you can afford/house first. That will give you the largest range of life and won't leave you wanting more later. Well......yeah u will. but at least it will be easier to keep ;)

Same as Macatua, buy the biggest you can . . . it will safe you money in the future . . . trust me. I would recommend a sump setup so make sure it's a pre-drilled tank. HTH and have fun with it!

i wish i got the advice of "Buy the biggest tank u can buy" when i first started out so i wouldn't have to waste money on upgrading XD

I don't fully agree. Well I do agree but I don't - let me explain.

I agree that a larger tank is definitly better. They are eaiser to deal with cause the system of water is larger and crashes are less likley - water quality is a bit more stable. And yes you will end up wanting more and more space as you get into the collection of livestock so a larger tank gives you more room and more options. So yeah bigger tank is better in all those respects.

However you have to realize that when it comes to SW the costs are staggering. I mean it can be a black hole for your cash flow.