In need of saltwater experts?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KKAY27

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok so I have been wanting a sw tank for maybe 2 years now. My boyfriend is giving me $300 to get my dream sw tank started!I have a 55g community tank, 65g african cichlid tank,10g planted ghost shrimp tank, and a 20g snail tank. I have no experience with sw tanks , but I would love to learn and experience it. I have been doing a lot of research such as live rock and species of fish! I think I want more coral and invertebrates than fish! I do want some clowns and gobies! I'm not sure what size tank to get! Many people say go big and some say go small! I'm not sure what tank I should use! So here is some of my questions
1. What size tank would be good to begin with? Not to big or small. A tall or breeder?
2. What kind of filtration should I use? I have no idea what a protein skimmer is? Can a hob filter work? Please educate me??
3. What type of lighting should I have for coral?
4. Salt water? I have read you can mix Marine salt to water to make saltwater is this true? I would rather not have to buy it in the bucket and I do not have Money for a roe system which I do not know much about.
5. Cycling?? And curing rock? ? Pleaseee educate me? I read somethin about a shrimp put in the tank to rot? Sounds crazy to me??

I'm sure I will have a thousand more ??s but this will do for now! please give me any information! I love to learn! And this is something I really want to do! And please remember I'm newbie so any help is wonderful! I need yall!!!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Well I'm no expert but I'll try and help as much as i can.