Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-15-2014, 01:05 AM   #51
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Really cool! I like the video, good job.
__________________

__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 05:38 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
I'm going to pick up 2 Vortech MP10wES powerheads as well as the wireless module for my apex. I think it's going to be pretty nice having them. I'm also picking up 6 new T5 bulbs for my fixture. ATI Blue+, Aquablue Sp., Blue+, Purple+, Aquablue Sp., Blue +(In that order). Hoping I like the color.

Cycle is going well.

Click image for larger version

Name:	31.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	222995
__________________

FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 01:51 AM   #53
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Rfirman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 146
Let us know how you set up your wireless apex set up. I assume you are making a witless connection to your router?
__________________
Rfirman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 11:16 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rfirman View Post
Let us know how you set up your wireless apex set up. I assume you are making a witless connection to your router?
Absolutely. I was going to hard wire the Apex, but I didn't want to run an Ethernet all the way to the Apex. I first plugged in the Apex with it hardwired. I updated everything set up my email and set up a page for me to view the Apex from anywhere. After I got the Apex updated, I bought a Netgear WNCE2001-100NAS wireless bridge. It was really easy to set up with my wireless router. I set up the bridge next to my Apex on my tank stand and ran a short Ethernet cord from the bridge to my Apex. It works out really well and the bridge was under $50.
FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 05:02 PM   #55
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
Just following up on the Apex question...

I didn't program anything too crazy. Basically I set times for my display lights and sump light to come on. Set different temperatures for my heater to run on. Set up a feed timer which shuts off my return, my skimmer, powerheads, and turns on my sump light. After five minutes they start coming back online. This is all done with the push of one button.

Also set up a feed timer for when I'm doing maintenance or water changes. My return pump, skimmer, ATO, and heaters all shut off for 30-35 minutes and my sump light comes on. This is all done with the push of one button as well!

Then I set up some email alerts. So if my Temp or pH gets to high or the power goes out, it automatically sends me an email. Pretty cool stuff.

When my vortech powerheads arrive, I will program these to go into different modes depending on the time of day.
FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 06:18 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Wow man your fish will have it great
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 06:35 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tate View Post
Wow man your fish will have it great
Haha hope so. Really just trying to make my life easier. I travel for work and like to know what's going on!
FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 03:48 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
One of the things that have been bothering me are how close to the water my lights are. Since it's a 6 bulb fixture, it basically covers the whole space above the tank. The legs of the light fixture only lift the light a couple inches off the top of the tank. Makes it hard to get anything in the tank, work from the top of the tank, and makes me worry about burning up corals.

I really didn't have any room to raise the light up, but was able to make a little hanging kit that gave me an extra 5-6 inches above the tank.

Click image for larger version

Name:	33.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	223612

Click image for larger version

Name:	34.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	223613
FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 09:23 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
Just a couple changes. I've had zero ammonia and nitrites for quite awhile and after it dropped to 0, I did a water change to lower nitrates and ordered a CUC. Major diatom outbreak but the snails and crabs are doing a good job. Just received my new ATI bulbs and they definitely give a much cleaner look. It's a good balance between white and blue. Hard to capture it on a cell phone camera. I haven't pulled the trigger on the MP10's yet. They're so expensive. I still definitely want them though. I may buy one this weekend and one a few weeks after.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1393377727.509631.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	118.7 KB
ID:	224821
FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 05:49 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankAbagnale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 230
Pretty pumped today. I ordered my first MP10w and it should be here by Tuesday. I also bought an Ocellaris Clown, a Black and White Ocellaris Clown, Cleaner Shrimp, a monti, an acan, and some zoa's!

Also want to give a shout out to AquaticLife. Two of my lunar lights were working intermittently so I emailed their customer support. I figured I would hear back in a week. They emailed me back in 30 minutes, told me how they upgraded the lunar lights on their new fixtures and went ahead and sent me 4 new LEDs free of charge. Awesome customer service!
__________________

FrankAbagnale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, reef, reef build, wall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nicole's 29g Reef Build NicoleIsStoked Saltwater Reef Aquaria 75 08-09-2013 12:15 AM
Pico reef build maybe TigerBarbs DIY Projects 0 02-03-2012 06:42 PM
In wall build questions Keeler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-11-2012 11:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.