Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-13-2003, 08:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Send a message via AIM to younghistorians
Interested in Clownfish-where to start?

Hi all-
I'm going to say that I am VERY new to the aquarium world. Ive had fish as a kid, but I strictly followed the manual, and had tetras.

Now, im interested in setting up a tank and getting a couple clownfish. However, I'm lost. What would be needed in terms of tank size, type of fish, temperature, food, lighting, practically everything.

I appreciate all answers, and thanks!

Old 12-13-2003, 09:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

As someone new to saltwater tanks I would suggest trying to get the biggest tank possible. For 2 clowns you should really have a minimum of 20 gallons or more and that will not allow you to add any other fish. They may seem like small cute fish but do in fact need a good size territory and are very aggressive fish.

But mostly I suggest that you go to the front page of this website and there are lots of great articles about setting up tanks and what you need. Then go to your Local fish store and see what is available. The more info you can give us on possible setups the more we can start sending you in the right direction. Plus it is easy to give you info on all of the best equipment out there but that might not be in your budget (this can get a bit pricey).

Old 12-14-2003, 12:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Send a message via AIM to younghistorians
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkos