Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-03-2003, 12:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 86
Is an R.O. unit necessary?

I have been conditioning my tap water with Prime solution for my top offs and water changes. I have used this method since I started my tank in January. Now that my tank is established I want to ensure a long life span for my pets.

Is an R.O. unit necessary? If so any recomendations?

Van
__________________

__________________
cybercron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2003, 01:04 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
Is an R.O. unit necessary?
No. I would say its not more necessary than a skimmer. Will it help improve your water quality? YES. If your using prime then i assume your on a city/town water source. Since your at the mercy of the water supply you never really know for sure whats being put into it.

Some are blessed with very good water from their town where as others are not. Going to RO water can help lower your algae problems, it can help maintain water quality aswell.

You can look on ebay or one of our sponsors www.aquariumwaterfilters.com
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ro/di unit vsnsofadrgn Archive 4 01-23-2007 12:33 PM
ro/di unit scrmom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-19-2006 02:17 PM
RO/DI unit??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-15-2006 05:40 PM
RO unit DI ?? OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-07-2006 08:25 PM
I have an RO unit. Do I really need a DI ? Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-15-2005 11:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.