Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-13-2008, 04:18 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
It is totally possible that the cured LR and LS may have skipped the cycle. I you are already adding pellets and not seeing ammonia, I would say you are cycled.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 04:50 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derdy88 View Post
well i took more tests today in better light and discovered that my NITRATE lvl is in between 5 and 10 PPM does this mean it cycled since nitrite turns into nitrate
Assuming you started with water that had 0 ppm nitrates in it, yes... this means your tank is cycled. You got it... the ammonia turns to nitrites, and the nitrites turn to nitrates. So if your source water has NO nitrates in it, the nitrates have to be coming from the whole nitrogen cycle thing happening.

And just FYI, using "cycled" water really doesn't do anything. The bacteria live mostly on the rocks, glass, and sand and don't really hang out in the water. Regardless, it sounds like your tank is good to go!
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 10:32 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Derdy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Windsor On
Posts: 67
alrighty guys thanks so much for your help muchly appreciated. getting my new ballast on monday so i will be throwing in some coral on tuesday and then prob go get my two clown next weekend ( just over a week from now ). so untill then i will be reading as much as i can about eveything possible. ill let you guys know how my coral goes im getting a couple mushrooms some kenyi trees and some waving fingers. then ill let you know how the clowns like their new home.
one more question about my skimmer i had alot of issues with it at first its only been running for a week now. at first it would keep overflowing because of air in the ruturn line to i shortenned the return line and that seemed to have fixed the problem. for only a short periode of time prob like an hour or so i was getting skimmate from the skimmer so that was a good sign but then it stopped producing it all of a sudden is this normal ? and i just put in a power head to move more water in the tank and now my skimmer is filling my entire tank with little bubbles? will this go away because i never see this in other SW tanks
__________________
Derdy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 10:36 PM   #14
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Usually skimmers need a week or two break in period IME
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 11:25 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
You should post a picture.... Maybe someone could tell you what it is exactly
__________________
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 01:57 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fierro Nights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 211
i have a one gallon tank that i got from walmart when i first had freshwater fish, i have saltwater in it now and a small filter which i replaced the filter media w/ ceramic tube looking things that are used for fluval filters as the biological media in the tank i also have a limewood airator . my display tank only has one fish in it, a crab, shrimp and some snails.

in the one gallon, i started to add white ammonia to it, it took me a while to find one that didnt have crap mixed in w/ it but it was worth the find. ( only use pure ammonia w/out any additives ) i added 5ml of ammonia to the tank and waited, after a few days i started to get nitrite levels, indicating that i had bacteria that removed ammonia as my ammonia tests came out undetectable, i slowly started to add more and more ammonia to the water, and eventually 5ml a day which would be undetectable the next day. i had planned when i get a new fish each time to place more and more of the live ceramic media to my display tank to keep the bacteria levels high for the new load.

sadly im using my 1 gallon tank right now for some macro algae because it has a light after making my tank look nasty, and my sump is late in the mail still.

i think this would be a good idea for you because im sure you will later add some more live stock.
__________________
Fierro Nights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 02:09 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
lance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 208
You might not see any cycle from testing your nitrite and nitrate and ammonia ( assuming your doing the test yourself and correct ) this wont mean your cycled. Theres things going on that you cnat see or test for. Your beneficial bacteria population is growing. You want this population large and strong. This is your first defense for controlling bio loads. 4 to 6 weeks is best for this and then adding stock slow means your bacteria will adjust with growth.
__________________
lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 11:44 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Derdy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Windsor On
Posts: 67
that is why i put about 10 hermits in last week then 3 weeks after they were added i will be putting in 2 clowns
or is that still too soon thanks
__________________

__________________
Derdy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I am Cycled?? Ziuck Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-19-2007 11:24 AM
Am I cycled? JulieB Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 03-15-2007 06:01 PM
Cycled! Scoot Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-15-2006 07:43 PM
Am I cycled??? sirfishmaster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-22-2004 10:52 AM
cycled or not SirPug Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-17-2004 09:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.