Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-24-2007, 10:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
Is my sand bed to deep? pics included

Over the past few weeks i have been setin up a 30g reef aquarium. and been asking lot of questions. now i was wondering if my sand bed was ok. i have read all the pros and cons of a deep sand bed and i think i dont want to risk the deadly gases that can form from it. so i was thinking about just adding 40# of sand. and this is what i got.
also, i have painted my back glass pride blue. thanks to u guys giving me the idea. i think it turned out great. thanks again. here are some new pics.
my LR is still curing and seams like the nitrites wont go down but well give it more time. lighting and wave system is on there way..
__________________

__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:06 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
How deep is it? Looks like it could be 3 or more inches to me.
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:14 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Looks fine to me. You have more than I have. It is really personal preference. What you really want. I think it looks pretty good. Good Job painting
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
its about 3 1/2 to 4" is that going to cause gases to build up? and if so how can i solve that problem?
__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:37 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I would imagine you`ll be OK. Most DSB`s are 5 to 6 inches. My guess is you`ll be OK. You can view my tank in the sig area to see my sand and how high it is.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 01:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
It looks fine. FWIW If you wanted to use less you could. 2" or so would give you some more room with out any draw backs.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 06:38 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
well to help out with the cycle time on this tank. witch i hope i wont even get one. i am going to add all my LR thats just about done to this 30 gallon and put about 5-10 pounds of the sand thats in my mature aquarium thats been running for about 1 year now in my refuge , that hangs on the back. i hope that will kickstart the cycle and i will get very little if any ammo. spike. whats your suggestion on doing this?
__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 09:41 AM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I would not put all that sand from your old tank in there because you`d be transfering alot of the nasty stuff in the sand causing a big spike in your tank. I would only transfer a small amout like a cup or two only to seed your sand. You`ll get most of your benificial bacteria from and on your LR.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pics, sand, sand bed

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How NOT deep of a sand bed Zer0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 09-19-2009 06:32 PM
Deep Sand bed OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-08-2006 08:09 AM
Deep SAnd Bed? drillsar Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 01-03-2006 09:52 PM
Barebottom substrate or 1/2 -1" sand non-deep sand bed? luckycat Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-12-2005 05:52 PM
deep enough sand bed? quarryshark Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-09-2004 09:03 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.