is the rock i just bought live?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

curiouslil12000

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i bought 36 pounds of rock from an online seller who informed me it was tahiti white live rock.
i got the rock home and inspected it and its completely white with some sand stuck to it.
i dont see any coloring to it and the seller told me this rock was in an aquarium for over a year with fish.
is this rock live?
im not usre what to look for since im new to this stuff.
ive also put in some rock i had gathered from a beach in mexico that has red almost pink spots on it does that mean its live?

Pictures of both the rocks will be help us to identify if it is or not.. but generally when something is completely white, then it's like being bleached/dead. But that does not mean it IS dead. It could just be that there's no coralline or algae growth on the rocks. Only.. i would think that if that rock was in an aquarium for a year maybe more, there would EASILY be algae and corraline growth, definitely algae.

Pictures would be best though.

pictures

first picture is of a piece of rock i brought back from mexico that has the red spotting on it and some pieces have alot of it on them.
he other picture is of the rock that i bought today

Attachments

• DSC00720.jpg
    DSC00720.jpg
    61.3 KB · Views: 66
  • DSC00722.jpg
    DSC00722.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 57
Was the rock completely dry when you got it. If so, then anything live on it, mostly bacteria is dead.

it was wet when i bought it.
as for the other rock i got from the beach in mexico what is the red spots?
i got it directly out of water and it stayed wet when i came back with it in a bag

The red spots on the rock from mexico are most likely traces of corraline, if it's even still alive..

how will i know if its still alive?