Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-21-2008, 01:49 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Being a shoreline creature I would not add them to a marine tank. Do you know what they really are (scientific name)? How big they get? What their diet consists of?
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 04:17 PM   #12
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
And are they reef safe !!
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 01:27 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 83
Very little information is posted. I just read that they are crabs and are fine towards fish, no idea about reef safe. They only go up to a max of 2" and I have never seen them over 1".

I have a question about thickness of sand bed. How thin can I get away with and still have nitrate reduction? 2", 3", 4" 5" ect. I understand the more the better, but I want as much tank room as possible. I understand that too shallow is bad. I would not exceed 5" but would like to us less if possible. Thanks
__________________
litebrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 11:20 AM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
SSB is under 3". A DSB is over 4". There are other ways to reduce nitrates. Macro algea in sump or fuge is a great way to do it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 02:05 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 83
Thank you. I will go with 4" then. I didn't want to add nitrates to a tank that currently never shows nitrates. I head that nitrates can show up with shallow beds. I didn't know the line between shallow and deep. Thanks for the info.
__________________
litebrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:08 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
If you have no nitrates then a SSB should not be the cause of nitrates. It will be colonized by aerobic bacteria.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 11:18 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 83
I bought some aragonite sand yesterday. I noticed that it had a high level of listed trace minerals such as Strontium and stuff. Is this good or should I mix it 50/50% with inert sand so I don't build up too many minterals in the water.
I am doing a deep sand bed, should I go with 100% aragonite still with the high levels of Strontium? Excessive Strontium sounds toxic?
__________________
litebrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 11:53 AM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Mixing with playsand will reduce the cost. The aragonite most likely has the same proportion of trace minerals as NSW as it is mined off the Bahmas coast. I wouldn't worry about it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 12:13 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 83
Is $0.50 cents per pound of coral / aragonite sand a good price?
__________________
litebrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 05:24 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 83
Ok. I got my sand. I am putting the sand in 5 gal buckets with holes in the bottom with a fine mesh and getting ready to cycle the sand. I put the 5 gal buckets in a larger bin using a pump to circulate saltwater in to the buckets to filter through the sand, adding Stability bacteria in to the water and try to cycle my sand. Just like starting a wet dry filter. Never tried this but figre it couldn't hurt and it will clean the sand too. I want my new tank to be fully cycled right when I add water!

Hehe. 5 gallons of sand does not let the water flow through. Needed to reduce the amount of sand in each bucket. Slow flowing but straining through.
__________________

__________________
litebrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type of sand to buy from HD DOLPH Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-07-2007 09:31 AM
Type of sand? lmw80 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-08-2006 10:11 AM
What type of sand ? SirLight1337 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-10-2005 06:21 PM
What type of sand? _dan_ Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-26-2004 11:28 PM
Got my Oldcaste sand at HD, how important is LR? jamal-188 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-18-2003 05:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.