Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-13-2003, 11:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Is there anyone out there who uses Wet/Dry instead of LR?

I am looking for someone with experience using a wet/dry filter instead of a LR setup. I'm new to the hobby, concerned with costs as well as the potential for sickness outbreaks and the possibility of having to medicate the main tank if there is mass infection. I've also been told that LR cause bad algae growth. But what I want is to hear from someone's experience how they are faring with this method.
__________________

__________________
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 01:12 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
After listening to the advice of the more knowledgeable folk here I converted my wet dry to a sump. All the bio balls are in a bucket, all the aragonite is in a bucket. Southdown (5"-6"), 50 pounds of base rock and 95 pounds of LR is now in and cycling. This is for a 125 gallon tank.
RO/DI will be here tomorrow.
I've now spent just over double my original budget and still have no livestock.
But, I'd rather do it right the first time and not watch the pretty fishies die. 8)

I went through the learning curve with FW 10 years ago and watched too many fish die. I'd rather take the time to do it right the first time now.

Having said all that, I can't wait to start adding some livestock to this tank
__________________

__________________
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 02:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
The LFS states the main negative as algae. Have you experienced algae problems? How difficult is it to clean the DSB?
__________________
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:04 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
all the aragonite is in a bucket
Are you talking about aragonite? or Crushed Coral...two different things...Aragonite sand is good and is pretty much the same as Southdown if I am not mistaken...

Pretty Fishes,

If you are planning on doing a Fish Only aquarium, you do not have to use LR and LS to have a beautiful fish tank...

As far as algae goes, you can have just as bad either way and there is no proof of that...

The potential for outbreaks and possible diseases are prevelent in both systems...

In all, it will cost twice as much to go LR and LS as it will to just go with a wet/dry filter for FO tank...If you plan to have corals in the future, I would suggest the you plan your tank around a budget that includes 2 lbs per gal of LR and at least 1 lb per gal of sand and probably 3 to 5 pounds of LS to seed it...

I will give the seniority a chance to get in on this here, I hope I helped...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:07 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
The LFS states the main negative as algae.
That is a bunch of hooey...

Quote:
How difficult is it to clean the DSB?
Simple thing to this,,,,you don't
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Okay... So, If I choose to do w/ a wet/dry, What kind of rock should I get to provide hiding places? Plastic? Can I still use a small amount of LR for grazing purposes
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:13 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Obviously without LR, the source of algae seeding is gone so what you may end up with is heavy diatom growth and perhaps some hair algae (from the LFS or possibly from the fish itself?)
So I would say with certainty that without LR you won't have any macroalgae. You will have diatoms and micro green algae. I did in my FO with a wet/dry. A wet/dry has a HUGE amount of biomass and can support a heavy bioload.
You will also accumulate detritus on the bottom of your tank if using bare bottom or CC, which will need to be vacuumed at water changes. I think I would run a wet/dry in conjunction with a sand bottom and try and get some LS from a friend to seed the sand bed. If that weren't possible, I'd use 1/4" of CC and vacuum regularly.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:20 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Quote:
Can I still use a small amount of LR for grazing purposes
If you're going to get SOME live rock, there goes your algae excuse

Just get a used aquarim for your sump and spend the $150 for the wet/dry on a couple boxes of onlne LR. You'll be happier in the long run.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:21 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Okay. So...in a LR tank, what can you do to increase the Bioload?

And if I use a 20gal high as a sump, is it neccesary (better) to have compartments and chemical filtration?
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:25 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
You may want a compartment to put activated carbon for those few times when you want it. You will need baffles to prevent air from entering the return pump.

1-1/2 to 2#/gallon LR will be sufficient to keep a full load of fish. A 4" sand bed will further increase bio capacity.
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dry, wet, wet/dry

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wet/dry manny09 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-02-2007 07:30 PM
Wet Vs. Dry FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-18-2006 02:19 PM
Looking at a new wet/dry. GatorDrew Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 06-03-2006 04:26 PM
Wet/Dry hardparts2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-31-2004 08:24 PM
How much wet/dry is to much? 03shee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-26-2004 11:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.