Is this enough to start?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

t27countryboy

Aquarium Advice Regular
55 gallon with glass canopy
48"strip light [40watts]two seperate bulbs making up the 48"
emperor 400
200watt heater
1 test kit
1 hydrometer
instant ocean aquarium salt
thermometer
salt water conditioner
If this is enough to start making a cycle,what should I put on the bottom......Live sand or crushed coral or what?They sell bags of live sand at my petstore.How much do i need for a 55?
I do not have the money to set up a big fancy aquarium right now like I wish so What would you suggest to get me started?Thank you very much in advance.
MARC

Your initial equipment looks good for a basic FOWLR setup, I am new to this hobby as well and like you did not want to spend a fortune on my learning experience! But have slowly realized that even the basics are getting expensive ... I think I have hit $500 and don't even have my LR yet !!!!!!!! 8O 8O 8O

If you plan on keeping any corals that need extreme light, you may want to go ahead and check into some PC/MH lighting. If not then just check out www.hellolights.com and look into getting a NO 10,000k & a NO Blue Actinic! Both of these are a tad better than your normal florescents. This is what I did!

You should check out www.premiumaquatics.com for your substrate, they have some real good prices on sand. From what I have read on this board and doing research on my own ... sand substrate is the best thing as it will help with the filtration! There is a link to "calculators" up top, put in your numbers and how deep you want your sand bed and it will give you the exact amount of sand you will need! a common number everyone agrees to is 3.5/5 inches deep ... I know for my 29 gallon I needed 65 pounds of sand to get a 3.5inch DSB.