Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2006, 06:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 174
IS this wright

If I get alot of live rock, then I don't need a filter. I can just get a skimmer or should I get both. If I need both I will get the bak-pak 2r reef ready instead of the aqua c remora .


What should I do ?
__________________

__________________
choupic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 07:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
oyf709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 645
how big is ur tank? if anything larger than 50g hang on back skimmer won't be enough.
The tank with tonts of LR w/o filter is ok , however, I would suggest a sump to be place in the system.If u don't have a sump, then most likely a filter will needed.
Right now I have a 75g reef tank with no filter and some skimming (which i will get a better in-sump one later). My water quality is good and coral are growing like mad . =)
__________________

__________________
We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...09/aqled-1.gif
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 174
its a 55 gal tank.
__________________
choupic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:12 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
i would suggest a filter also maybe a cannister, i use the fluval 204 on a 55g works great
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 07:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
For a 55gal, if you have 80-110lbs of LR, a 3in LS bed and a good skimmer you will be set in terms of filtration. There are plenty HOB skimmers that will work well on your tank. A canister filter can be used as long as it is cleaned on a ery regular basis. I recommend removing all of the filter media they come with and use it for added water flow and a place to run chemical filtration if desired.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:42 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I have 2 55 gallon tanks, one with 130 lbs of rock and a powerhead to move water around and a 55 with 2 HOB filters (the largest aquaclear and a tetratec). By far, the easiest to maintain and less trouble is the one with live rock only. I do keep the smallest aquaclear on hand in the closet in case I need to run carbon in the tank.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:45 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackteck
i would suggest a filter also maybe a cannister, i use the fluval 204 on a 55g works great
You must have an exceptionally light bioload, or a very new tank. That is very light filtration for a 55. I have several fluvals, the 303's and 403's, no way I would trust either one of them as the sole means of filtration on a 55 gallon salt tank.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
the rating on the 204 says upto 60g so thats why i went with it plus i have 2 maxijet 1200 ph for water movement and coralife skimmer
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
and yes i only have 2 perc clowns and a cleanup crew
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.