I've never done this before. Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishCrazyBenBOMB

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well I have like 6 fw fish aquarium and I wanted to see if I could attempt a sw.

First of all what size aquarium would be the easiest and cheapest. Next I would like it if somone good give me a detailed list of what i'll need to buy to set it up (so I get a price range).

This would be awesome if somone could take the time and help me out!

Thank you!!

what"s your budget?

I'd go with 50g or larger. Fish only or reef and fish? Helps to determine what you'll need to buy.

what"s your budget?

I'd go with 50g or larger. Fish only or reef and fish? Helps to determine what you'll need to buy.

I want to do a reef and fish setup, and the price I want to aim at the minimum and you think I could do it in like a 20 long? If not just say so then continue on with price range :D

It really depends. I would as stated before, recommend a 55 gallon plus. If you really really want to start smaller I'd probably recommend an aquapod or something of the sort ( an all in one smaller tank). But, from my experience as being sort of new into the hobby my 55 gallon is MUCH more stable than my 10 gallon QT tank. The water temp changes/ swings daily in the QT as well as the water evaporates much more quickly in the 10 gal as where the 55 gallon does not fluctuate at all ( water also evaporates more slowly). If you ignore a 20 gallon for 1 day you'll have problems, if you ignore a 55 gallon for 1 day, not too many issues usually.