Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-09-2013, 02:59 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 96
The drain that came with the tank has a little plastic tube that extends out of the elbow on the drain not sure if that is what your asking.
__________________

__________________
js198027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:12 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Is the overflow on one side of the tank or right in the middle?
__________________

__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:31 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Its prob a durso style drain. As for return section area, mine is just wide enough to fit the pump in. I drilled a few 1/2 holes in the lower portion of the acrylic that separates chambers 2/3... This allows a bit of water to drain through and help with evap issues
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:40 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 96
The over is in the left corner. I have also noticed when moving my power head if it point anywhere near the over flow you can here it gurgling.
__________________
js198027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:42 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
I was thinking about evaporation when I built my sump as well as my skimmers opperating depth. Ad you can see skimmer section for not overflow it flows right thru the middle the top and bottom baffle are 4" each. The next controls the level for the skimmer at 9". Next comes the return pump to be a bubble trap. Sump water level stays consistent and plenty of room for a possible power outage.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131009_123804.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	201781
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:50 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
I was thinking if you have a wave going on the tank than it has got to fill up enough to get the wave high enough to drain. With a consistent level in the tank it will always be draining
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:08 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Oh and to the OP, you prob wont need both powerheads. Youre sitting at roughly 3100gph with just the wp40, thats just over a 43x turnover. I have the wp40 on my 6ft 125 and it can create 2 inch waves.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:12 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
If the level is changing with the excessive gurgling in a single pipe durso drain, then you are creating a syphon with the elbow. There should be a small hole in the top of the capped standpipe which, in your case, needs to be bigger. You'll have to drill it out. One method is to drill an oversized hole to allow an airline to fit thru, then put a valve on the topside, for minute adjustments. But the basics is the more flow you have thru the pipe, the larger the hole needs to be to allow air to break the syphon.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:19 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 96
So what your saying is the little tube that came in it from the factory isn't big enough and I should try drilling it larger? I do know that the tube is smaller than air line tubing. I'm not sure what you mean by capped tube? My drain also has a hole on the side of the elbow probably about 3/8"
__________________
js198027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:29 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
I would watch and see if it is a syphon forming when the pump is turned up. If it is, the water level will start to drop to either the 3/8" hole, or even intil the elbow breaks free from the water.
As for the line in the top, can you move it in/out? That is the hole I was referring to, and it sounds like it already has the airline in it. So you can try moving the line in/out and see if that breaks the syphon, or even remove it entirely, letting more air in. I would fiddle a bit before drilling the hole larger. A pic might help.
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gallon, 75 gallon, 5 gallon, build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.