just getting started

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

spuds

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm just getting started, and I don't even have my salt water yet, lol. But I am enthusiastic and I would like some of my questions to be answered.

1. I would like a reef aquarium, but I want a less expensive alternative to a wet-dry filter. Is that possble to obtain?

2. What would the absolute minimum size tank be? I currently own a 10 gallon with freshwater, but I doubt it'll be enough.

3. What types of fish would you recommend?

IMO 10 gallons too small. I suggest a 55 or higher to start even though many on this site have smaller. The bigger the tank the better. I dont like wet drys anyway . Too much nitrates for me. Refugiums are the way to go. But I dont think there is much price difference. As far as the stocking that is up to you. You need to do some research and find your slice of the pie. The only thing I will say is that if you want a reef tank You should not get angels since they are prone to nip at corals. Learn from my mistake. Good luck and we are here to help

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!! :smilecolros: :smilecolros: :smilecolros:
I would like a reef aquarium, but I want a less expensive alternative to a wet-dry filter. Is that possble to obtain?
You can use a "Berlin" method for filtration. It consists of LS, 1.5-2lbs/gal of LR and aggressive skimming. Wet/drys, when maintained properly will not cause an increase in NO3. They do take some work however.
What would the absolute minimum size tank be? I currently own a 10 gallon with freshwater, but I doubt it'll be enough.