Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-12-2006, 07:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Just Getting Started and Reading Like Crazy. But, need Advic

Folks,

For many years my wife and I have wanted a salt water aquarium. We've decided to turn our desire into a family hobby and have been reading like crazy about fish keeping. The one thing I have yet to find, is advice on what equipment/specific models and brands a total beginner should purchase.

Since these are living creatures, and we feel a responsibility to care for them well, we are willing to spend a little extra for equipment that will ensure our success and the health of our fish. So, with that said. Could I ask for recommendations on everything we would need? I tried to search here, but get an error message...

We plan on a 30-40 gallon tank, as thats all the space we have available. We still have not decided on the actual fish yet.

Many, many thanks in advance!

Old 07-12-2006, 11:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

WELCOME TO AA
MOST OF THE SW BOOKS RECOMMEND WHAT EQUIP. BUT NOT WHAT BRAND, IS THAT WHAT YOU’RE ASKING?

Old 07-12-2006, 11:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckmn101
WELCOME TO AA
MOST OF THE SW BOOKS RECOMMEND WHAT EQUIP. BUT NOT WHAT BRAND, IS THAT WHAT YOU’RE ASKING?
Hi, yes and thanks for your reply. I'd like some advice on specific brands/models for everything from the tank (40 gallon or so) to all of the associated items. (filter, PH, skimmer, etc)

Thanks again!
Old 07-13-2006, 12:07 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Welcome to AA.

As for tank, any brand really. All-Glass is a reputable name. You mainly want to find the design that's right for you. Glass or