just got a new tank and would like to start a saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brubblepa

Aquarium Advice Newbie
ok so i've been reading a ton of topics on here i've been keeping freshwater fish for about 5 years i just got what i think is a great deal on tanks i paid $250 for 120gallon and a 30 gallon both stands a fluval 403 filter and a few other misc filters, power heads, air pumps and so on

i just basically have a few questions

lighting i eventually would like to have a reef tank and since they only came with standard double bulb flourecent lights i know that is one main area i need to upgrade but not sure what type or kind of lighting would work best

also amount of live rock and live sand i would need i have southdown and base rock to add to begin the fishless cycle but i'm not sure how much southdown and how much live sand i would need to seed it with the same with the base rock and live rock

would that 30 gallon be large enough to use as a sump

and what type of protein skimmer and salt does everyone prefer

any help will be greatly appreciated

You've been keeping a FW tank for a while. That shoud help a bit, but I'm now learning that SW is a whole new world. If you're not familiar with SW, you should think about buying a good book. Everyone always suggests The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner. It'll answer a lot of questions.

As for rock, you should think about getting a total of 1.5-2 lbs. The ratio of live/base rock is up to you (I'm gonna go 50/50).

And if you're gonna get live rock, you don't need a lot of live sand. The live rock will seed it for you. Save money and buy the non-live stuff and seed it with live rock and maybe a few cups of live sand from an established tank (maybe a neighbor/friend/lfs).