Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-22-2004, 11:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
just got a new tank and would like to start a saltwater

ok so i've been reading a ton of topics on here i've been keeping freshwater fish for about 5 years i just got what i think is a great deal on tanks i paid $250 for 120gallon and a 30 gallon both stands a fluval 403 filter and a few other misc filters, power heads, air pumps and so on

i just basically have a few questions

lighting i eventually would like to have a reef tank and since they only came with standard double bulb flourecent lights i know that is one main area i need to upgrade but not sure what type or kind of lighting would work best

also amount of live rock and live sand i would need i have southdown and base rock to add to begin the fishless cycle but i'm not sure how much southdown and how much live sand i would need to seed it with the same with the base rock and live rock

would that 30 gallon be large enough to use as a sump

and what type of protein skimmer and salt does everyone prefer

any help will be greatly appreciated

brubblepa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 12:36 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
You've been keeping a FW tank for a while. That shoud help a bit, but I'm now learning that SW is a whole new world. If you're not familiar with SW, you should think about buying a good book. Everyone always suggests The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner. It'll answer a lot of questions.

As for rock, you should think about getting a total of 1.5-2 lbs. The ratio of live/base rock is up to you (I'm gonna go 50/50).