Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-07-2005, 01:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Just purchased a 125 gallon and want to set up a reef

I am a beginner, so any advice that i would get is greatly appreciated. I have been looking at a wet / dry filter with protein skimmer. After going in several pet stores and getting different answers from all, i don't know whether to get the 150 or the 200? is this even the proper filter?

Old 02-07-2005, 01:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

150 or 200 what?

And the men who spurred us on sit in judgment of all wrong, they decide and the shotgun sings the song.

125 SW
80 lb LR
330w PC
Euphyllia, Alveopora, Pachyclauvularia (Metallic Green and Daisy), Frogspawn, Torch, Gold Nepthea, Kenya Tree, Galaxea, Pulsing Xenia, various leather (umbrella, toadstool, fingers, devil fingers, lettuce)
Maroon Clown/White tip LT anemone, Powder Blue Tang, Female Swallow Angel, SixLine Wrasse, Solar Fairy Wrasse, Firefish, Fathead Anthias, Blue Mandarin, 3 Chromis, 3 Green Gobies
Clown Monarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 01:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I have a 125 gallon SW tank. Here's what I have that I've had very good luck with so far, knock on wood:

6 x 55w Coralife PC light - 165 daylight/165 actinic
approximately 80 lb of live rock
20 gallon wet/dry w/ 2200 l/hr pump and just a simple PVC tube for a siphon
(2) 150w heaters - 1 in tank, 1 in wet dry
simple tube protein skimmer with a maxi-jet 1200 pump in wet dry
Aqua 15w UV sterlizer
Fluval 404 canister with the filter pads and carbon, and a surface skimmer
(2) 300 g/hr powerheads

And the men who spurred us on sit in judgment of all wrong, they decide and the shotgun sings the song.

125 SW
80 lb LR
330w PC