Just purchased a 125 gallon and want to set up a reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nicole

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a beginner, so any advice that i would get is greatly appreciated. I have been looking at a wet / dry filter with protein skimmer. After going in several pet stores and getting different answers from all, i don't know whether to get the 150 or the 200? is this even the proper filter?

I have a 125 gallon SW tank. Here's what I have that I've had very good luck with so far, knock on wood:

6 x 55w Coralife PC light - 165 daylight/165 actinic
approximately 80 lb of live rock
20 gallon wet/dry w/ 2200 l/hr pump and just a simple PVC tube for a siphon
(2) 150w heaters - 1 in tank, 1 in wet dry
simple tube protein skimmer with a maxi-jet 1200 pump in wet dry
Aqua 15w UV sterlizer
Fluval 404 canister with the filter pads and carbon, and a surface skimmer
(2) 300 g/hr powerheads

Hi if you really want to set up a reef tank and do it right, id suggest some reading first. I wouldnt worry abotu buying anything else until you get the book "the conscientious marine aquarist" by robert fenner. this book is amazing and will help greatly, the book should give you a good idea on what filters etc do what, lighting, substrates, decor, fish compatability, etc etc. Also i would suggest doing lots of reading on this forum and asking lots of questions, we will all try to help you as much as possible, and guide you in the right direction, but i would defitnitley suggest getting that book and reading it, it was a huge help to a lot of us on this site, so hope this helps and i hope you come back with more questions,

remmeber if you try to rush this it will cause a lot of headaches and probably result in way more money spent than needed

nicole said: