Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-15-2003, 01:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
Keeping Clean Sand

Again, I am a newbie, so don't assume I know anything, because I likely don't...

I have been told that when I do water changes, I should "vacuum" the sand by using a syphon(sp) hose. I've been doing that for a few months, and while I don't really mind the effort, what I do mind is having to move all the stupid rocks around every time. That's the real pain for me.

Is there any way that I can add enough sand sifters to prevent having to do this every week? I only have one tiger tail sea cucumber so far (he's a monster, though), but I was planning on getting a sand sifting sea star to help out. How much would it take to keep a 42 gallon hex tank clean?

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 02:11 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

How deep is your sand bed and what grain size do you have?

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 03:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I'm not sure about the grain size. It's pretty fine. The bed has to be 4-6 inches deep. I have approximately 50 pounds of sand in a 42 gal hex tank.

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars