Keeping live rock alive?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sirbk

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Just bought a bio 29g, I'm new and oblivious

Hello, I just recently purchased a 29g used biocube. I am new to the Saltwater hobby. This is my first saltwater set up.

This is what I bought on craigslist
Biocube 29g
a Circulation pump
red coral salt

and then 30 lbs of live rock from the same person that I bought the biocube from.

I've read guides for the past few weeks but with the actual biocube, I am feeling very overwhelmed and confused on what I need to do.

With that being said, do I place the live rock right away in the biocube with the water and then begin the cycling for a month?

Are there any great saltwater books I should check out or read online? Or any guides that you could link me to?

Thank you

What so you need to do to the tank before starting? I would put the rock in the tank with a heater and a powerhead if you can, with water of course!

What so you need to do to the tank before starting? I would put the rock in the tank with a heater and a powerhead if you can, with water of course!

I updated my original post so people can understand a bit better...

I updated my original post so people can understand a bit better...

Mix your salt water to the correct salinity. Fill your bio cube. Adding sand first saves from so much cloudy water. Then add your rock with a powerhead and heater. Last step is the hardest lol BE PATIENT. Let the tank cycle completey

You should add your rock first, so you can do a nice aquaskape, after you add sand it will be very cloudy for a day and your rock will shift and cause an Avalanche if not set on a base. Add rock cause you want to cycle all the dead stuff in there, that's going to cause ammonia than nitrate. Sand is clean, doesn't affect you water perimeters.