Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2006, 02:05 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
one cube for 3 fish is still too much food, IMO.

Have you timed how long it takes them to eat that amount?
__________________

__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 02:13 PM   #22
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I put one cube in for 2 shrimp, 6 fish and they still didn't eat it all, had to wait for the "night crew" to clean it up. I mix a little of a cube w/some shrimp, now.

You also have to take into account that some of those fish don't eat off the bottom. Sometimes my damsels will snatch some food off the bottom, but very rarely. They know the the "great hand" out of the water is where the food comes from...
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 03:36 PM   #23
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by princess4880
Where can I find the article to build refugium? Only feed 1 cube frozen brine shrimp every other day.
If you don’t have a sump the easiest way to add a refugium is to get a HOB refugium.
www.melevsreef.com has examples on how to build one.

I feed about 1 to 1 1/2 cube every other day and I have a total of 15” total fish length. Breaking up your feedings to twice daily and every other day will give your fish enough time to consume everything in less then 3 minutes. If they do not consume everything within 3 minutes then I would reduce slightly until they do.

All you are doing by overfeeding is adding excess nutrients to your tank which break down to no3 and will give you headaches with algae blooms.

Brine shrimp is OK for occasional use but has very little nutritional value to your fish/inverts. As roka64 pointed out a variety is best for there diet. Read this post on the feeding requirements of SW fish.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 05:07 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to princess4880
Forgot to say that it is brine shrimp plus. Is this sufficient if not where is best place to get some vitamins and food. I have not had the extra time to read article yet but will when baby calms down. Thanks
__________________
princess4880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 05:37 PM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The Brine shrimp plus is better then the regular but still is lacking in a good overall diet. Two of the best frozen mixed diet items IMO are Marine Cuisine Frozen & Ocean Nutrition Prime Reef Frozen which you should be able to find at one of your lfs along with the vitamins. The post goes into a lot more detail but I know all too well how having a little one can slow you down
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 09:57 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to princess4880
I think it is missing scales will try to get better pic
__________________
princess4880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2006, 10:30 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to princess4880
Also how do you do the quote the right way?
[/quote]If you don’t have a sump the easiest way to add a refugium is to get a HOB refugium.

Can you advise if this would be the same as building the sump and what else besides a light and aquarium I would need to get it working with tank? Would this work better than a hob refugium?
http://cgi.ebay.com/MegaPro-Refugium...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
princess4880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 09:49 AM   #28
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Clicking on the button is the easiest way which will quote the whole text and then you could just delete any text you didn’t want to quote.

Alternately you can format it yourself using bbcode:
Code:
Quote:
this is a quote
Using the Quick Reply buttons will place the code in the reply and close the code when you are done:


As far as the refugium kit goes it wouldn’t be easier since you would have to deal with an overflow ($40+) from the tank but it would give you more water volume and a larger fuge.

It really depends on what you plan on using the fuge for and how much effort to build one you want to do.

Using the HOB fuge is fine for most applications and you already have enough lr to handle your biological filtration.

Having a sump/fuge below the tank will give you about 5+ times the volume that the HOB would and if slightly overstocked or if battling no3/po4 often then it would be worth the effort of having a larger fuge which would export no3/po4 in larger quantities.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:38 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
your biowheel may be the source of your nitrates. if you have enough LR you should remove it.
__________________

__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, cleanup, cycle, level, new fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycle update & cleanup crew question aravindk Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 03-02-2006 11:52 AM
How to acclimate cleanup crew ? Same as fish? carioca Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-18-2005 05:19 PM
Adding Cleanup crew FishFrenzy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-12-2004 08:37 AM
Cleanup Crew help... MarkW19 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-01-2004 11:26 PM
Adding Fish and Clean Up Crew Together? ericsze Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 10-14-2003 08:49 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.