Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-17-2009, 10:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Lighting???

I have had my 20 gal running for sometime now and all of the watrer parmeters are good. I was interested in getting some corals and was wondering what ligh fixture i should get? The tank is 30 in long.

Thanks!

Old 05-17-2009, 11:05 PM   #2
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict

What type of corals do you want to keep? Softies, LPS, SPS? How long is "sometime now"?

Old 05-17-2009, 11:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

The tank is been running for almost 2 months now. In the begining probably just softies...but i dont want to limit myself in the future.
Old 05-17-2009, 11:42 PM   #4
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Ok. Well, I'm no expert by any means so I'll just relate what I've done in the same size tank. I have 130W of PC over my 20. T5 light is more efficient than PC and MH is more efficient than T5 so the wattages will vary. With my setup, I started with softies and very easy LPS. I've since found through pushing the limits in baby steps that I can keep just about any LPS and alot of SPS. There are corals that I can't keep and I've avoided trying to take a leap. A lot of it will depend on other factors such as nutrients, flow, placement, etc. For your desires, I wouldn't recommend less than what I'm running and it'd be pretty easy and relatively affordable to do even better.
Old 05-18-2009, 01:45 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to pat8you