Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 12-14-2011, 07:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Since I have never done a coral tank before I am unsure what specs I need for lighting.

My tank is 800 gallon,

8 ft x 4ft (front section)
7ft x 3ft ( side section)

30" depth with dual over flows.

I was talking to a guy at the lfs and he said metal halides are the best for hard coral and from what I've read, I need 3-5 watts per gallon.

I can get metal halide 400w or 1000w fixtures really cheap but they use a tonne of electricity

Any suggestions?

I have about 10 4 ft fluorescent light fixtures that I took down from a Reno that I was Hoping to re use and change out the bulbs for t5's,

looking forward to some suggestions !

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3633908566.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	65632  

audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 09:25 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin

POTM Champion
For the size and depths...I don't see much other choice than MH. Seen all your posts, can you make one in the tank showcase? Would love to follow this.

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 09:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
I also would say metal halides will be your best bet. the dimensions are just way too big for a standard fixture in my opinion plus you'll need the depth penetration.

Following your other thread by the way, excellent work on the tank, I absolutely LOVE the rocks on the outside of the tank!
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 09:20 AM   #4