Lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

audifusion

Aquarium Advice Freak
Since I have never done a coral tank before I am unsure what specs I need for lighting.

My tank is 800 gallon,

8 ft x 4ft (front section)
7ft x 3ft ( side section)

30" depth with dual over flows.

I was talking to a guy at the lfs and he said metal halides are the best for hard coral and from what I've read, I need 3-5 watts per gallon.

I can get metal halide 400w or 1000w fixtures really cheap but they use a tonne of electricity

Any suggestions?

I have about 10 4 ft fluorescent light fixtures that I took down from a Reno that I was Hoping to re use and change out the bulbs for t5's,

looking forward to some suggestions !

Thanks!

Attachments

• image-3633908566.jpg
    image-3633908566.jpg
    53.4 KB · Views: 113
I also would say metal halides will be your best bet. the dimensions are just way too big for a standard fixture in my opinion plus you'll need the depth penetration. :)

Following your other thread by the way, excellent work on the tank, I absolutely LOVE the rocks on the outside of the tank!

Well If you have the cash you can do LEDs. Like those led cannon things. I would say maybe 8 of them

If you are like me, on a budget I got metals for the corals and dawn/dusk and moonlight I got leds. You should get lumen elite or lumen max to spread the metal light around. You will need at a minimum of 4 for the 8 feet length.

This is great. I'm loving the feedback.

so, how many metal halides should I get ,

I can get 400w and 1000w light fixtures w bulbs for pretty cheap.

I was thinking 6-8 400w, does that sound like enough?