Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2011, 01:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the 4' fixture is 26.5" wide. how wide is your tank? btw, with the hydroponics fixtures, you'll need to purchase new lamps at about 20 dollars a piece. figure that into your price.

trust me when i tell you that many have tried, and none have succeeded to put good lighting over a tank for next to nothing. not unless you are some DIY type or get something used. btw, most of the DIY stuff i see is downright ugly.
check your local craigslist and local reef clubs for people breaking down tanks or upgrading lighting.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:04 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
If you have a full canopy you could retrofit some T5s into it instead of buying a fixture
__________________

__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 04:31 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 29
I just bought a 48' unit on ebay for the same tank also switching from FW to reef :

48'' Metal Halide 2x 150 Compact Aquarium Light 560watt - eBay (item 250791929408 end time Mar-27-11 16:18:23 PDT)
__________________
neastil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 10:53 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
He needs a 60" fixture
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 04:11 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
why would he need a 60" fixture, all he really needs is brackets to hold the fixture he can use a 24" fixture if he really wanted to
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 05:37 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
To cover the entire tank, he's planning on a reef
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 06:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
yes but even wit ha reef tank you don't need the entire tank lite, if the center is lite then the corals can be placed only in the center.

if he put a 4 foot light in there will be 6 inches on each side that doesn't have a light over it, but it also doesn't mean it won't get lite up. you will still get light floodign there just not the same PAR as directly under the lights. thus, makign it a good spot for anything low light
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 06:32 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
I'm just saying it's worthless IMO to get a fixture not the full size of the tank to utilize all of it. I know he'll get overflow from the fixture, but having that extra space IMO will look ugly, those spots will be darker than you're thinking they will be.
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 06:50 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i beg to differ on that, i have a 24" long aquarium and have a single T8 that came with my tank kit, and if i'm not mistaken is a 16" and the sides are just as bright as the center
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 07:55 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
in some cases you can get away wit that, but i would want my lighting to reach the entire tank with the same intensity. you will run out of real estate quickly, and will be glad you have the corners lit up.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
100g, light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
photo of 100g will8 Forum Admin & Announcements 4 06-29-2008 04:35 AM
New 100G SW Setup Spchampion2000 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-17-2007 03:16 PM
looking at getting a used 100g tank ditchdoctor81 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-21-2006 04:45 PM
Help with new 100g setup erawtik Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-07-2005 10:05 PM
Lighting for 100g. BrutusPleco General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-08-2005 10:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.