Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-15-2013, 04:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Lighting for 29g biocube sw

Hey guys !!! so if you seen my others threads you would know that I'm a newbie to sw but I'm trying. I just notice that the actinic light is out I guess it busted but I also hear from post that the stock lights are the best to go with. I'm aiming for a reef tank I'm still in the cycle process but I would like to get everything up and ready so that in a couple of months when adding my fish and corals and what not everything is already prepared. I don't want to mod the hood or take it off and replace it with a fixture is there just a bulb I can get to replace that one that will be better for different type of coral ?

Old 06-15-2013, 10:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

Someone help please

Old 06-15-2013, 11:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

You might have better luck just asking what brand of 36 watt power compact bulbs people suggest using... I'd answer but I don't know myself. I just replaced the PC bulbs in my red sea max and went with the stock replacement ones.
Old 06-15-2013, 11:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Ditch the stock lighting and do either a retro DIY led kit or mod the good for led's. those power compacts aren't going to be able to sustain much and your gonna have some heat issues to deal with IMO.

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 11:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I agree the LEDs would be better (PCs can sustain plenty though), but he already said he wanted to keep the hood and didn't want to mod it.