Lighting frustrations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jdwhite807

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys, I've have a 40b cycling as we speak. I have been researching lighting for a month straight and it seems the more I read the more confused I become, so I'm bringing my questions to you guys since I couldn't answer them myself. I am only looking to grow low-med light corals right now as this will be my first reef tank experience, so Ill start with the softies and see where it goes from there. My first question is fluorescent (t5ho, t8, or t12?) VS LED. What size would I need in each? Also I am capable of building a fluorescent with a little guidance with specific components (I have an electrical systems degree). Would this be an idea to entertain and would There be a significant price advantage to build my own?

T8 and T12 are out. Not strong enuff.

A 2-4 bulb T5 HO would provide enough light for most corals.

However, if you want to build, LED is the way to go. There are lots of videos of people building their own fixtures.

I would go with a 3 channel controller (Blues, whites, green/red). Use Cree LEDs in 3 and 5 watt, high efficiency outputs. You could use simple power supplys as your controllers (hooked to timer switches) or more costly programmable controllers. Get enough LEDs that you only need to run them at 66% max output at full to prolong the life of the LEDs and controllers.
240 watts total output is more than enough, so design with 330-360 watts in mind.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Thanks for the reply. Is the LED a better route because of the lifespan of the light, less heat, more efficient etc..? Am I achieving the same thing with the T5HO at a lesser cost? Sorry just trying to understand, a lot of people seem to lean toward the LED and I am just wondering what reasons are driving that choice.