lighting question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FBTennisNumberOne

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i have been keeping a 10 gallon nano for about 10 months now...
i used tap water in the beginning...BIG MISTAKE! i had carpets of green algae for a couple months until i swtiched to nutri-seawater...which has no phosphates and all that good stuff algae LOVES!
the tank has been pretty basic....i purchased some mushrooms corals from my LFS and all has been well...i have a regular flourecent bulb on it now and my mushrooms are fine...i have been wanting to get a new fixture either power compact or t-5s so i could keep some different corals...

i have read that 4-5 watts per gallon will let you keep a wide variety of corals.... so i was looking for a 20in. fixture with about 40 watts...

is that enough watts? or too many? i don't to run a chiller or anything like that...
will 40 watts heat my tank too much?

also when i was looking i was seeing 80 and 96 watt fixtures...
isn't that way too much light for a little 10 gallon tank?

Thanks in advance
Tyler

I'm not up on saltwater so bare with me. The watts per gallon breaks down for small tanks(smaller then 20G), so you need more light to achieve the similar results as 4wpg on a larger tank. Now I assume this is the same for SW.

You should not notice this size light heating your tank much, I guess it depends on your situation, as in is the house in a stable temp? like in the A/C?. What is your tank temp now?

You can have the hood left a little open and have a small fan blowing air at or around the surface to cool temps down if you have an issue(I doubt you will).

I know I saw a 65w setup for that tank size that is prob a good amount of lighting for it but I'll let the experts chime in with the "expert" advise. 65w on a 10G would be more like 3-4wpg compared to the larger tanks.