Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-22-2005, 10:35 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
do a search for "blender mush" on this forum and it will give you many recipes.
__________________

__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 11:00 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to kart_racer3
I would like to check the phosphate level in my water, but unfortunately the standard test kit that I purchased with my aquarium did not contain a test for that chemical. Are there any other tests that I should conduct, beside the standard pH, Alkalinity, Nitrate, Nitrite, and Ammonia tests?

So far, based on you advice I will try to lower my phosphate levels by reducing my feedings back to every other day, I want to purchase a PhosBan Reactor, an additional Maxi Jet Powerhead or two to eliminate troublesome flow areas, and I'll take your advice about the nassarious Snails (they look particularly interesting). Does that sound like a decent start to fixing my problems?

Also, is the PhosBan reactor a temporary fix in that when the phosphate levels are low that it is no longer needed? Or is it a device that I can keep installed in my sump for a long run period of time?

Thanks again for your advice.
__________________

__________________
kart_racer3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 08:18 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 67
I'd say that's a good start... I wouldn't neccessarily reccomend a PhosBan reactor at this point, I think I'd wait til you confirm you have a major PO4 issue first. Invest in an Aquarium Pharmaceuticals PO4 test kit, i'm not sure on overall accuracy, but it's pretty simple to read. Do this before you go nuts on the reactor.

note: I use phosban in a fine mesh bag (comes with phosban jar) tightly rolled up and with another mesh bag filled with carbon wrapped tightly around it, then rubber bands are wound around them to keep it all together. This equates to low phosban flow and no cloudiness, all without a reactor.

-dave-
__________________

__________________
cowman345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live rock, rock, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live rock questions AdamHorton Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 08-29-2009 04:18 PM
live rock and live sand and playsand questions. neoginn Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 16 10-01-2006 03:25 PM
Newbie with live sand and live rock questions!! MrFLGuy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 04-13-2004 04:42 PM
questions about cleaning live rock and substrate sw-addict Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 12-28-2003 03:43 PM
Must sell live rock/substrate, NOW! ScottyC1073 Archive 14 07-11-2003 04:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.