Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-13-2010, 01:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Live rock initial cleaning?

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to salt water aquariums and I'm in the process of cycling my first reef tank (30 gals), fishless. I've done a bunch of research but still have questions..

I have two chunks of cured live rock sitting in my tank now, they weight total about 20-25lbs. I read that the surface is supposed to be cleaned? This is something I have not done, is this necessary? I've already noticed a lot of movement within the rock, some plants peek in and out, little crabs here and there, but the surface is pretty gray.

The tank is at 80F to help the cycle speed and I used salt water from the LFS to fill the tank

Old 07-13-2010, 07:10 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

I would just put that rock in your tank and cycle it with the die off of the rock. 80 degrees isnt going to speed the cycle up. It`s actually a good temp for your tank to be all the time.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 09:31 PM   #3

Thanks!

Also where in the process should I start thinking about getting lights? My goal is a reef tank, but I've read that cycling shouldn't involve lights.

I currently have the stock fluorescent lights that came with the 30gal tank (unsure of wattage)

Last but not least, can I get a good protein skimmer recommendation for a 30gal?
Old 07-13-2010, 09:41 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award