Live rock initial cleaning?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dgpilot

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey all,

I'm fairly new to salt water aquariums and I'm in the process of cycling my first reef tank (30 gals), fishless. I've done a bunch of research but still have questions..

I have two chunks of cured live rock sitting in my tank now, they weight total about 20-25lbs. I read that the surface is supposed to be cleaned? This is something I have not done, is this necessary? I've already noticed a lot of movement within the rock, some plants peek in and out, little crabs here and there, but the surface is pretty gray.

The tank is at 80F to help the cycle speed and I used salt water from the LFS to fill the tank

I would just put that rock in your tank and cycle it with the die off of the rock. 80 degrees isnt going to speed the cycle up. It`s actually a good temp for your tank to be all the time.

Thanks! :)

Also where in the process should I start thinking about getting lights? My goal is a reef tank, but I've read that cycling shouldn't involve lights.

I currently have the stock fluorescent lights that came with the 30gal tank (unsure of wattage)

Last but not least, can I get a good protein skimmer recommendation for a 30gal?

Check out the octopus brand skimmer. I pretty sure your lights that came with the tank will not be enough for corals. You`ll need to upgrade that.

Thanks for your help!

I have one last stupid question. After testing the water today, I got the following results:

pH: 7.9
ammonia: 0
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 0

Does this mean the tank has cycled?
Again, I started with 20lbs cured LR, LS and salt water from the LFS (which comes imported from the ocean). Also there are hitchikers on the rocks, including dusters and several crabs