Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2011, 03:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lane1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 221
Live sand. Clarity...

Hi. I set up my new 40 gl breeder and it has been cycling for about a day... It's still super cloudy... How long should it take for sand to settle? And should I keep my filter going? At first the sand had a slime like film on it when I first added water but now it feels like normal. What has changed?
__________________

__________________
Lane1223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
By cycling, what do you mean? Did you add an ammonia source? Leave your filter going because it will help remove some of the unsettled dust particles. Depending on how well you rinsed your sand, it may take a few days. The slime may just be bacteria, or a by-product from the sand, I had it in my tank, too, and it went away as well, and I really have no clue what it was.
__________________

__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lane1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by thominil
By cycling, what do you mean? Did you add an ammonia source? Leave your filter going because it will help remove some of the unsettled dust particles. Depending on how well you rinsed your sand, it may take a few days. The slime may just be bacteria, or a by-product from the sand, I had it in my tank, too, and it went away as well, and I really have no clue what it was.
I have added a dead shrimp and my ammonia levels are upward. I'm going tomorrow to the lfs and buying ammonia in the bottle. The shrimp was the best I could do for now....well in the process of opening my sand which was suppose to be in a bag which was inside a bigger bag, the inside bag busted and 40 pounds of sand when on the carpet. I got as much I could up and put it straight into the tank. Wasted probably ~3 pounds of sand.
( thank God for vacuums!) By cycling I mean like bio filter cycling.
__________________
Lane1223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
The shrimp will do you good for a while. Do you have a liquid test kit by chance? If not, when you go to the LFS tomorrow, grab an API Saltwater Master Test kit, or another liquid test kit, just make sure it has ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite, those are the 3 most important parameters right now. More than likely, your LFS won't carry bottled ammonia, and they will give you a strange look if you ask them for it. Best bet is to go to an ACE Hardware and grab a bottle of their "ACE Pure Ammonia" it will have no surfactants, no nothing, just ammonia.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lane1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by thominil
The shrimp will do you good for a while. Do you have a liquid test kit by chance? If not, when you go to the LFS tomorrow, grab an API Saltwater Master Test kit, or another liquid test kit, just make sure it has ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite, those are the 3 most important parameters right now. More than likely, your LFS won't carry bottled ammonia, and they will give you a strange look if you ask them for it. Best bet is to go to an ACE Hardware and grab a bottle of their "ACE Pure Ammonia" it will have no surfactants, no nothing, just ammonia.
I did buy a new one yesterday. And we don't have and ACE hardware store around here....any other suggestions?
__________________
Lane1223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:28 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
pee it in! nonono, just kidding

do you have any hardware stores around?
__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:39 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Stick with frozen shrimp then.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:51 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lane1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by thominil
Stick with frozen shrimp then.
How long should I leave it? The whole time?
__________________
Lane1223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Depending on how big the shrimp was, it may be enough to cycle the whole tank. Have you been testing the water? When you see ammonia fall to 0 and nitrates rise as well as 0 nitrite, you are cycled.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lane1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by thominil
Depending on how big the shrimp was, it may be enough to cycle the whole tank. Have you been testing the water? When you see ammonia fall to 0 and nitrates rise as well as 0 nitrite, you are cycled.
Yeah! My ammonia is going up. No nitra/ites yet, though.....
__________________

__________________
Lane1223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clarity, live, live sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live rock! Omggg cls8s Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 06-29-2011 03:47 AM
Switching tanks, live stock, and lighting questions.. ultimatedc Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 06-26-2011 01:45 AM
Not cured live rock better? deepseadan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-25-2011 02:05 PM
Unkown Object on Live Rock ScubaGirl Saltwater & Reef - Identification 7 06-25-2011 12:05 PM
Live rocks shortysteve23 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-23-2011 08:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.