Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-21-2004, 01:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to aquafreak Send a message via MSN to aquafreak Send a message via Yahoo to aquafreak
Live Sand Required

This Marine aquarium gig is totally rad!

I've decided for my finances and sanity to go FO. Do I need "live" sand in with a new aquarium or can I just buy regular sand, filter it, and use 1 fish to start the Nitrogen Cycle? Also, I have a 50 gallon aquarium. How many pounds of sand is enough? Would you use layers of different types?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
aquafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 01:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
To figure how much sand you want here is a calculator
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/calcs_new.php
As for depth, that is personal preference. If a DSB is desired, target at least 3-4 ".
If not, shoot for about 1".
You do not need live sand to start. If you are getting LR, it will seed it anyway.
Please don't use live animals to cycle. LR or a cocktail shrimp will do the job. It is very stressful on fish and is no longer recommended by most.
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 01:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to aquafreak Send a message via MSN to aquafreak Send a message via Yahoo to aquafreak
Thank you for your help! I was about ready to give up on the entire idea but I think I can do this I'll use fiddler crabs to cycle it if I can't find shrimp. I won't use live fish then.

Is there a special way to mix salt water? I thought of mixing it in a large container and then adding it to the aquarium (Instant Ocean). Is that all there is to it? Stupid question but no one seems to know the answer.
__________________
aquafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 01:57 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 428
Send a message via AIM to nodoubt471
that would work well. just put a powerhead in the container and let it run for like 24 hrs to make sure everythign is well mixed before adding it to the tank.

cocktail shrimp isnt too hard to find, they sell it at every grocery store ive ever been to.. if you cant find it, just use a chunk of fresh fish from the seafood monger.
__________________
~*Kate*~
nodoubt471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 02:14 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to aquafreak Send a message via MSN to aquafreak Send a message via Yahoo to aquafreak
okay, will do. thanks!
__________________
aquafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 08:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
use aragonite sand, not regular sand. it will help with your pH
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 11:00 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to aquafreak Send a message via MSN to aquafreak Send a message via Yahoo to aquafreak
Thanks, I will do this. Would layering it starting from a base of thinker crushed coral then a finer sand Aragonite work best?
__________________
aquafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 11:21 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
IMO, I would just use the aragonite sand. Its better for the sand stirring critters.
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying live sand vs making live sand mhart032 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 06-03-2009 06:13 PM
MUST GO! 50gal salt w/ live rock live sand New Orleans area. supermarvin76 Archive 0 03-13-2007 07:10 PM
Five ryukin goldfish for trade for Live Sand or Live Rock byrdman81 Archive 1 03-11-2005 10:08 PM
For sale/trade....100lbs. live rock....and lots of live sand BONESTOCK Archive 4 10-06-2004 05:56 PM
need live sand in Dallas Fort Worth, TX or Southdown Sand LionStorm Archive 3 07-30-2003 12:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.