Looking for help getting started...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rhino

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Just as the title says, I am in need of everyone's help. I have been keeping freshwater tanks for about 2 years now. I have considered, for quite some time, diving into the world of saltwater/reef aquariums. I have been doing lots of research rather than just diving right in. I originally planned on using a spare 10 gallon I have laying around for a nano reef tank. However, with this being my first attempt, I find it best that I use something larger than just a 10 gallon This will allow me more room for errors that I am sure will arise.

Just to give you a quick briefing as to my long term goal. I am wanting to put together a reef tank. I don't want anything crazy fancy. Just a nice simple setup. Before you all even say anything, I have looked into the Biocube systems. I like the design aesthetically, but long term if I want to make upgrades I would be extremely limited, even with all of the mods available. Back on track, I am not as concerned with what fish I have so much as I am what corals I can keep. I would like to have: Ricordea Mushroom, Toadstool Mushroom Leather, an assortment of Zoa's, Candy Cane, Torch, and Frogspawn all immediately come to mind. No doubt I will find others along the way as well.

Tank wise I am considering a couple of different options right now. I have an Aqueon 36 gallon bowfront setup as a planted tank already. I have considered breaking it down and using it. If I go this way I already have the stand, 2 Aquaclear 70's, and a 30" Current USA Nova Extreme fixture(dual bulb). I doubt I will be able to use the light fixture because the tank is so deep. I love the look of a bowfront tank, but with the tank being deep it is kind of a pain to work in.