Lots of newbie questions (HELP!)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bassoonguy

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am relatively new to the saltwater world.. I have only kept two
previous tanks, one a 30 gallon with one medium volitans lionfish and a UG
filter.. it was successful (until a college roomate drunkenly tipped
his ashtray into the tank!!!)That was several years ago. Now I am
purchasing a 55 gallon tank and have decided to go with wet/dry
filtration and more fish. (now rethinking that.. but don't really know the specifics of other options) I am completely in love with volitans
lionfish.. and yes I know, eventually i will have to go to a larger
tank. I want to keep a fish only tank.. with 2 small lions,and one rectangular or niger trigger. Yes.. I know I will have to move up as they grow. I was originally considering a pair of Harlequin shrimp segregated from the carnivores by a glass wall.. growing feeder stars in the sump tank.. but I am afraid of overloading the tank.. adn of all the work associated with keeping these shrimp. Before my lion tank I
had a hippo tang, a mandarin fish, and an arrow crab.. the arrow crab
lasted the longest.. but the tang got ich.. and then the mandarin
starved to death (dealer told me it could eat brine shrimp.. I guess
the little bugger was just too slow to catch them :-( I learned my
lesson on feeding..
On filtration.. I am confused by many online resources
as they seem to be more concerned with selling than answering
questions.. but here are my thoughts .. I want to keep it as
economical as possible. I've considered building my own wet/dry
system, also using one of the back of the tank wet/dry systems sold
by Millenium (the Millenium 3k for instance) but I don't know much
about this option. Can they be used by themselves as the only form of