Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-10-2005, 04:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUSTIN, MN
Posts: 39
low ro/di output. please help

I've had my 6 stage 125 gpd ro/di unit for a while now, and it just doesn't put out much water. We're talking like 1/2 gpd output here. It's the first thing in line when the cold water comes into the house, so I don't think it's a pressure issue. Now that I have 150 gal worth of tank water it hardly keeps up with evaporation. Is this normal? What can I do? I'm about to scrap the whole thing and go back to buying my water.
__________________

__________________
arowanaman420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:04 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I imagine one of your stages is blocked for some reason. I sure would try to find the reason because I buy mine and it ain`t no cheap adventure.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUSTIN, MN
Posts: 39
I have checked water flow at every stage. The pressure seems acceptable until it reaches the ro membrane. The good water barely drips out while the rejection water flows fairly well. I have gone as far as disconnecting everything and just running through the ro filter with no noticeable change in output.
__________________
arowanaman420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:53 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
How cold is the water coming into your house? Probably pretty cold up the in MN now. I'm pretty certain you get a lower output of good water at colder temps.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 08:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
greenfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Livermore, California USA
Posts: 631
If the water is really cold it can lower production. See this post of mine for a tip on raising the water temp:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=38461
__________________

greenfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 07:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Longview,Texas
Posts: 49
How old are your filters? They should be replaced about every 6 months. Do you have a pressure gauge? If not I would suggest in getting one if your unit will accept it. The pressure needs to be at least 55 psi to get your rated GPD, sometimes more depending on your RO membrane. How old is the RO membrane? Those need to be replace every 3-5 years. You may also want to look into getting a flush kit, to clean the membrane so it will last longer.
__________________
29 gal tank since June 2005
40 lbs of LS
36 lbs of LR
Maxi-jet 1200
Aqua C Remora Skimer
Emporer Bio-wheel (not sure what model but big enough)
1 Pygmy Angle
1 Ocellaris Clownfish
2 Dwarf Red Tip Hermit Crabs
Umpa Lumpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 07:45 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
from the data Ive read on RO membrains the output to production seems best around 65 PSI the preasure gage helps tell you when its time to replace the prefilters so its a good investment if you dont have one already.. but it sounds to me like your being affected by cold water.. check out greenfish's link.. the water being too cold can effectively reduse your output to almost nothing.. and that seems to be the problem here..
good luck
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 08:35 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 429
If your water is very cold, the pores in the RO membrane will shrink, leading to better rejection of waste, but much lower output flow.
__________________
55g reef, 2x250W 10k MH + 2x96W PC actninc, 10g sump, AquaC Urchin skimmer, 65lbs LR

xenia, mushrooms, wels. open brain, fungia radiata (orange), green eyed zoos

flame angel, mated pair of false perc, 6-line, firefish

20gH electric yellow cichlid
theatrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 12:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
It sounds like you have a problem with the RO membrane to me. I have well water which is cold and I still get around 40 gallons a day. It should not slow down to 1/2 gal a day. That is worthless.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 06:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUSTIN, MN
Posts: 39
[quote= That is worthless.[/quote]
That was my thought. I'm going to try warming the input water as mentioned above.
__________________

__________________
arowanaman420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What plants survive at low pH & low light (6.0 or under) Jeffs Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 06-03-2011 01:52 AM
WTB Low/Med-Low light floating plants zacusmaximus Archive 1 08-10-2007 04:22 AM
scwd output greatgman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-11-2005 09:59 PM
10 gallon low light (15W), low tech planted tank filter? TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 03-16-2005 11:55 AM
Add ins for low light low planted tank? Deitta Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 05-05-2004 03:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.