LR and GOODIES

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

trotty

Aquarium Advice Freak
I went to the LFS today and got another peice of LR to put in my QT.

After putting the rock in to the water i realised that i got some sort of sea star. As i am new to SW did i need to acclimatize this little fella?
He's about 6' from tip to tip, 5 legs that are covered in spikes, and brown to black in colour? Is he friend or foe?

Its too late now but would like to know for next time.
It was cured LR, the param are good in the QT as its been set up for about 3 weeks now with establised media.

How long should i leave the LR in this tank before putting it into my display tank?
My display tank has been set up for about 6 weeks, no LR in this tank yet.
Any information on this subject would be great.

Attachments

• imgp0232_661.jpg
    imgp0232_661.jpg
    76.8 KB · Views: 38
looks like a type of brittle star..
Did you cycle the main tank?
You do not have to QT cured lr you can add it right too the display.

You do not have to QT cured lr you can add it right too the display.

Yep as long as it's cycled. Then, you'll have to add an ammonia source (fish or food) to keep it going. Describe your main tank. What's going on there?

I started the main without LR. Tank has been cycled and has the following:
A pair of pecula clowns,
A Royal dottyback,
A Zebra Gobby
and 2 Peppermint Shrimp
No LR in this tank as yet.

I took the Brittle star back to the LFS for a credit.... Bonus!

Another thing, will i get any fluctuations that i have to watch for when i add the LR to the main tank?

Oh its too late now, but was the star friend or foe?